Uninstall

If you need to remove an s3ftp deployment at any time, this is easily done using Cloudformation.

Delete the s3ftp cloudformation stack

  1. Navigate to the AWS Cloudformation console, and select the s3ftp stack you deployed earlier and then click the Delete button.

  2. You will be prompted with a confirmation dialogue. Click Delete stack.

    delete stack

  3. After a few minutes the stack should be deleted.

Cleanup protected resources

There are two types of resources that will not be deleted when the stack is deleted. This is due to cloudformation DeletionPolicy explicitly set to Retain for these resources, which are:

  • the default S3 Bucket
  • Elastic IP Addresses allocated by the stack

The reason these are retained is in case the stack is deleted in error, to avoid data loss and to protect against losing static (elastic) IP addresses.

An idle S3 bucket will still be charged for storage in use. Unallocated Elastic IP addresses also incur cost.

Release Elastic IP Addresses

  1. To delete Elastic IP addresses, navigate to the AWS EC2 Console

    delete elastic ips

Remove default S3 bucket

  1. To delete the default S3 bucket created by the stack, navigate to the AWS S3 Console and select the default s3ftp bucket.

    The default bucket name follows the format s3ftp-<AWS Account Id>-<AWS region>.

    Don’t click into the bucket to view the contents, just select the bucket in the initial S3 screen.

  2. Click the Delete button at the top right and you will then presented with the Delete bucket page.

    If the bucket is already empty, you can simply enter the full bucket name into the confirmation field, and click Delete bucket to finish the deletion.

  3. If there are remaining files or versions in the bucket, you will see a red alert box at the top of the screen. In this case, click on the empty bucket configuration within the alert box.

    delete bucket

  4. The empty bucket configuration page will allow you to easily purge the contents of the bucket. Type permanently delete into the confirmation field and click Empty.

    empty bucket

  5. You will then be shown the Empty bucket: status screen. Click Exit.

    empty bucket status

  6. And you will be dropped back to the S3 bucket listing screen with the default bucket still selected. Click the Delete button again to move to the Delete bucket screen again.

    really delete bucket

    Finally, enter the full bucket name and click Delete bucket.